CARMEN

This story is spelled with a full sentence in traditional spelling, followed by that same sentence spelled in Mentur.

Dhis story iz speld with a fwl sentuns in trudishunul speling, foloed by dhat saem sentuns speld in Mentur.

Compare this method to the side-by-side column method;

This story is spelled with a full sentence in traditional spelling, followed by that same sentence spelled in Mentur. Dhis story iz speld with a fwl sentuns in trudishunul speling, foloed by dhat saem sentuns speld in Mentur.

This is only a sample of the complete story as it is so long, and is only being used to teach reading of traditional text, with the aid of text spelled with the Mentur Spelling System. The complete story can be found on the Internet, spelled in traditional spelling.

Paragraphs will begin with bold print.

From Gullible’s Travels Etc, by Ring Lardner

CARMEN

KARMUN 

We was playin’ rummy over to Hatch’s, and Hatch must of fell in a bed of four-leaf clovers on his way home the night before, because he plays rummy like he does everything else; but this night I refer to you couldn’t beat him, and besides him havin’ all the luck my Missus played like she’d been bought off, so when we come to settle up we was plain seven and a half out.

We wvz plaein’ rvmy oevur to Hach’z, and Hach mvst uv fel in a bed uv faur-leef kloevurz on hiz wae hoem dhv niet bifoer, bikauz he plaez rvmy liek he dvz evrything els; bvt dhis niet I rifvr to yoo kwdn’t beet him, and bisiedz him havin’ aul dhv lvk mie Misuz plaed liek she’d bin baut off, so when we kvm to setul vp we wvz plaen sevun and a haf out.

You know who paid it. So Hatch says:

Yoo knoe hoo paed it. So Hach sez:

“They must be some game you can play.”

“Dhae mvst be svm gaem yoo kan plae.”

No,” I says, “not and beat you. I can run two blocks w’ile you’re stoopin’ over to start, but if we was runnin’ a foot race between each other, and suppose I was leadin’ by eighty yards, a flivver’d prob’ly come up and hit you in the back and bump you over the finishin’ line ahead o’ me.”

No,” I sez, “not and beet yoo. I kan rvn two bloks w’iel yoo’r stoopin’ oevur to start, bvt if we wvz rvnin’ a fwt raes bitween eech vdhur, and supoez I wvz leedin’ by eity yardz, a flivur’d prob’ly kvm vp and hit yoo in dhv bak and bvmp yoo oevur dhv finishin’ lien uhed u’ me.”

So Mrs. Hatch thinks I’m sore on account o’ the seven-fifty, so she says:

So Mrs. Hach thinks I’m sor on ukount u’ dhv sevun-fifty, so she sez:

“It don’t seem fair for us to have all the luck.”

“It doent seem fer for vs to hav aul dhv lvk.”

Sure it’s fair!” I says. “If you didn’t have the luck, what would you have?”

Shwr it’s fer!” I sez. “If yoo didn’t hav dhv lvk, whot wwd yoo hav?”

I know,” she says; “but I don’t never feel right winnin’ money at cards.”

I knoe,” she sez; “bvt I doent nevur feel riet winin’ mvny at kardz.”

I don’t blame you,” I says.

I doent blaem yoo,” I sez.

I know,” she says; “but it seems like we should ought to give it back or else stand treat, either one.”

I knoe,” she sez; “bvt it seemz liek we shwd aut to giv it bak or els stand treety, eedhur wvn.”

Jim’s too old to change all his habits,” I says.

Jim’z too oeld to chaenj aul hiz habuts,” I sez.

Oh, well,” says Mrs. Hatch, “I guess if I told him to loosen up he’d loosen up.

Oh, wel.” sez Mrs. Hach, “I ges if I toeld him to loosun vp he’d loosun vp.

I ain’t lived with him all these years for nothin’.”

I aent livd with him aul dheez yirz for nvthin’.”

You’d be a sucker if you did,” I says.

Yoo’d be a svkur if yoo did,” I sez.

So they all laughed, and when they’d quieted down Mrs. Hatch says:

So dhae aul lafd, and when dhae’d kwiutud doun Mrs. Hach sez:

“I don’t suppose you’d feel like takin’ the money back?”

“I doent supoez yoo’d feel liek taekin’ dhv mvny bak?”

Not without a gun,” I says. “Jim’s pretty husky.”

Not without a gvn,” I sez. “Jim’z prity hvsky.”

So that give them another good laugh; but finally she says:

So dhat giv dhem unvdhur gwd laf; bvt fienuly she sez:

“What do you say, Jim, to us takin’ the money they lose to us and gettin’ four tickets to some show?”

“Whot do yoo sae, Jim, to vs taekin’ dhv mvny dhae looz to vs and getin’ faur tikuts to svm shoe?”

Jim managed to stay conscious, but he couldn’t answer nothin’; so my Missus says:

Jim manijd to stae konshus, bvt he kwdn’t ansur nvthin’; so mie Misuz sez:

“That’d be grand of you to do it, but don’t think you got to.”

“Dhat’d be grand uv yoo to do it, bvt doent think yoo got to.”

Well, of course, Mrs. Hatch knowed all the w’ile she didn’t have to, but from what my Missus says she could tell that if they really give us the invitation we wouldn’t start no fight.

Wel, uv kors, Mrs. Hach knoed aul dhv w’iel she didn’t hav to, bvt frvm whot mie Misuz sez she kwd tel dhat if dhae reely giv vs dhe invutaeshun we wwdn’t start no fiet.

So they talked it over between themself w’ile I and Hatch went out in the kitchen and split a pint o’ beer, and Hatch done the pourin’ and his best friend couldn’t say he give himself the worst of it.

So dhae taulkd it oevur bitween dhemself w’iel I and Hach went out in dhv kichun and split a pient u’ bir, and Hach dvn dhv porin’ and hiz best frend kwdn’t sae he giv himself dhv wvrst uv it.

So when we come back my Missus and Mrs. Hatch had it all framed that the Hatches was goin’ to take us to a show, and the next thing was what show would it be.

So when we kvm bak mie Misuz and Mrs. Hach had it aul fraemd dhat the Hachuz wvz goin’ to taek vs to a shoe, and dhv nekst thing wvz whot shoe wwd it be.

So Hatch found the afternoon paper, that somebody’d left on the street-car, and read us off a list o’ the shows that was in town.

So Hach found dhe afturnoon paepur, dhat svmbody’d left on dhv street-kar, and red vs off a list u’ dhv shoez dhat wvz in toun.

I spoke for the Columbia, but the Missus give me the sign to stay out; so they argued back and forth and finally Mrs. Hatch says:

I spoek for dhv Kulvmbeu, bvt dhv Misuz giv me dhv sien to stae out; so dhae argued bak and forth and fienuly Mrs. Hach sez:

“Let’s see that paper a minute.”

“Let’s see dhat paepur a minut.”

What for?” says Hatch. “I didn’t hold nothin’ out on you.”

Whot for?” sez Hach. “I didn’t hoeld nvthin’ out on yoo.”

 

But he give her the paper and she run through the list herself, and then she says:

Bvt he giv hvr dhv paepur and she rvn throo dhv list hvrself, and dhen she sez:

“You did, too, hold out on us. You didn’t say nothin’ about the Auditorium.”

“Yoo did, too, hoeld out on vs. Yoo didn’t sae nvthin’ ubout dhe Audutoreum.”

What could I say about it?” says Hatch. “I never was inside.”

Whot kwd I sae ubout it?” sez Hach. “I nevur wvz insied.”

It’s time you was then,” says Mrs. Hatch.

It’s tiem yoo wvz dhen,” sez Mrs. Hach.

What’s playin’ there?” I says.

Whot’s plaein’ dher?” I sez.

Grand op’ra,” says Mrs. Hatch.

“Grand op’ru,” sez Mrs. Hach.

Oh!” says my Missus. “Wouldn’t that be wonderful?”

Oh!” sez mie Misuz. “Wwdn’t dhat be wvndurful?”

What do you say?” says Mrs. Hatch to me.

“Whot do yoo sae?” sez Mrs. Hach to me.

I think it’d be grand for you girls,” I says.

“I think it’d be grand for yoo gvrulz,” I sez.

“I and Jim could leave you there and go down on Madison and see Charley Chaplin, and then come back after you.”

“I and Jim kwd leev yoo dher and go doun on Madusun and see Charly Chaplun, and dhen kvm bak aftur yoo.”

Nothin’ doin’!” says Mrs. Hatch. “We’ll pick a show that everybody wants to see.”

Nvthin’ doin’!” sez Mrs Hach. “We’l pik a shoe dhat evrybody wvnts to see.”

Well, if I hadn’t of looked at my Missus then we’d of been O. K.

Wel, if I hadn’t uv lwkd at mie Misuz dhan we’d uv bin O. K.

But my eyes happened to light on where she was settin’ and she was chewin’ her lips so’s she wouldn’t cry.

Bvt mie ie’z hapund to liet on wher she wvz setin’ and she wvz chooin’ hvr lips so’z she wwdn’t krie.

That finished me.

Dhat finishd me.

“I was just kiddin’,” I says to Mrs. Hatch.

“I wvz jvst kidin’,” I sez to Mrs. Hach.

“They ain’t nothin’ I’d like better than grand op’ra.”

“Dhae aent nvthin’ I’d liek betur dhan grand op’ru.”

 

About Paul Stought

This blog will only be about spelling reform and Mentur. I am a retired machinist. I have been studying spelling reform for about ten years. I decided Mentur is what I would like to see as a user-friendly spelling system for English. Spelling reformers in general have widely differing views on the subject.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

